This is the stupidity test! 100 stupid things that people do! Bold the ones that you have done!
1. Forgot to put the lid on the blender, turned it on, and had everything fly out
2. Gotten your head stuck between the stair rails
3. Broken a chair by leaning back in it
4. Had gum fall out of your mouth while you were talking
5. Choked on your own spit while you were talking
6. Had people tell you that you are blonde when you're not/or had had people tell you that your blonde highlights are going to your head
7. Been caught staring at your crush by your crush him/herself
8. Have looked for something for at least 10 min then realized it was in your hand
9. Tried to push open a door that said pull
10. Tried to pull open a door that said push
11. Have actually believed someone when they said that they knew how to make a love potion
12. Have hit yourself in the process of trying to hit something else
14. Have actually exploded marshmallows in the microwave
15. Have gotten gum stuck in your hair
16. Had gum fall out of your mouth while trying to blow a bubble
17. Have had the juice from a mini tomato squirt out and hit somebody else when you bit into it
18. Have had your drink come out your nose because you were laughing so hard
19. Have called one of your good friends by the wrong name
20. Have skinned your toe because you were playing soccer or kickball with flip flops on or you were barefoot
21. Have put a sticker on your forehead, forgot it was there, and went out in public with it on
22. Have fallen out of a moving vehicle.
23. Have run into a closed door
24. Have almost shot someone with a cork-gun while trying to shoot something else
25. Searched for your cell phone while you were talking on it
26. It has taken you longer than 5 min to get a joke
27. Have gotten your hair stuck in a blow dryer
28. Have gotten your hair stuck in a fan
29. Tripped on a crack in the sidewalk
30. Said o'clock after saying how many min after the hour, example: 5:30 o'clock, or 6:15 o'clock
31. After someone told you that there was gum on the ground, you stepped in it
32. Put on a white shirt even though you already knew it was raining outside
33. Have ever walked up to a stranger because you thought they were someone else
34. Ever been kicked out of a grocery store/off their property
35. Touched the stove, the curling iron, a hot pan, etc on purpose even though you knew it was hot
36. Picked out your change of clothes, took off the ones you had on and then accidentally put the old clothes back on
37. Wondered why something wasn't working then realized it wasn't plugged in
38. Put the cereal in the fridge, or put the milk in the cupboard
39. Walked into a pole
40. Wore two different earrings or shoes by accident
41. Put your shirt on backwards/inside-out without realizing it then left your house
42. Tried to take a picture of your/someone's eye with the flash on
43. Gotten a ring stuck on your finger because you put it on even though you knew it was too small
44. Walked out of the bathroom with toilet paper stuck to your shoe without realizing it
45. Went to go do something/go get something, then when you got there forgot what is was that you were going to do.
46. Picked up someone else's drink and drank out of it by accident when your drink was right next to it
47. Fallen out of your chair while trying to pick something up
48. Have poked yourself in the eye
49. Have gotten in the shower with your socks still on
50. Melted your hairbrush while blow drying your hair
51. Have done enough stupid things to make a test
52. Have accidentally stabbed yourself with a pencil
53. Have sung the wrong verse to a song without realizing it
54. Have given an odd answer to a question because you didn't hear the question in the first place and didn't feel like asking what it was.
55. Told someone you were the wrong age because you seriously forgot how old you were
56. Looked into an overhead light purposely while it was on
57. Got up early and got ready for school/work/meeting, then realized that you didn't have school/work/meeting that day.
58. Have tripped on a cord after someone told you to watch out for it
60. Have ever laughed at a joke or movie that no one else thought was funny
61. Done the Macarena to the electric slide or vice versa
62. Said funner, then had someone make fun of you for it
63. Have repeated yourself at least twice in the same sentence
64. Brought up an inside joke with the wrong person
65. Didn't do the backside of an assignment because you thought that there wasn't one or because you had already looked and forgot that there was another side
66. Did more work than you had to on an assignment because you didn't read the directions
67. Corrected someone's grammar/pronunciation then figured out that you were the one that was wrong
68. Put something in a special place so that you would remember where it was, then forgot where you put it
69. Put ice in your drink after the glass was full of liquid and had it splash out.
70. Told a lie then forgot what it was that you had said and got caught
71. When wearing goggles, you pulled them away from your face and let go so that they would come back and snap you in the face
72. Forgot to make sure that the lamp was off before you replaced the light bulb
73. Ran into a door jam
74. Told someone that you hardly ever do stupid things, then immediately did/said something stupid
75. Told someone to watch out for something, then you were the one that ran into it
76. Have purposely licked playground sand
77. Have purposely and repeatedly flicked yourself with a rubber band
78. Gotten so hyper that someone actually thought you had eaten lots of plain sugar when you haden't had any
79. Have been so hyper you actually scared people
80. Put duct tape on your body then pulled it off to see if it would pull your hairs out
81. Put duct tape on your hair/someone else's hair then pulled it off
82. Put a clothes pin/hair clip on your lip, figured out that it hurt, then did it again
83. Sat and wondered why men’s dress shirts have a loop on the back
84. Made up a code name for someone so that you could talk about them to someone else and no one else would know who you were talking about
85. Have gotten a hairbrush stuck in your hair
86. Used the straw to blow the straw wrapper at someone
87. Shaved your tongue because you thought your taste buds looked weird
88. When at a restaurant/cafeteria, you used your spoon to fling stuff at people
89. Have flung forks at people in a restaurant/cafeteria
90. Sucked on a cup and got a suction ring from it
91. As you were writing, you moved your head back and forth with your pen/pencil
92. Have drawn finger puppets on your fingers then named them
93. Have wrapped someone in a roll of toilet paper
94. Have used somebody else's toothbrush without even realizing it wasn't yours
95. Started telling a story and forget what you were talking about or what happened in the story
96. When you saw a ‘beware of dog’ sign, you told the owners to beware of the dogs not realizing they owned the dogs
97. You have spelled your own name wrong before
98. When lying in bed you look for pictures in the texture of the ceiling
99. Have used your calculator as a form of communication in class
100. Have popped a balloon in your mouth
Chao- This was fun to "fill out", and there were some good laughs, but at some point, this meme seems to stray away from stupid things to random things. Oh, well.
Monday, August 26, 2013
Monday, August 19, 2013
Contractions and Possessions
Chao- These two things that require an apostrophe can get confusing. They also give readers headaches if used incorrectly. After all, how many times have we stumble upon in either our own work or another's and read you're when it should be your or vice versa? Talk about a face palm moment.
YChao- You made such mistakes before, even now.
Agent Daisy- (opens very old fan fics) (points at flaws)
Chao- Yep, not gonna deny that. Anyway, here are some websites for people who may need a refresher.
Apostrophe (Oatmeal)
Guidelines for Using Apostrophes Correctly (About.com)
The Apostrophe (Purdue OWL)
Chao- And even if we become aware of what we write, how can will cut down on these mistakes? Try this little exercise.
Exercise: Try writing without using either apostrophes. Write out the possessions and contractions.
Example: Instead of "he's" write "he is". Or instead of "you're" write "you are".
Consider this: While examining your own work, either for clarification or if you are at the revision stage, read every paragraph backwards. All sentences should stand on their own, and it will give you a better way of seeing mistakes.
Chao- FF.net and FP.com have Previews available. You can try reading your story in that format, so it will give you a new view on the piece. Sometimes it's easier to catch mistakes if you see your story in a new format.
YChao- You made such mistakes before, even now.
Agent Daisy- (opens very old fan fics) (points at flaws)
Chao- Yep, not gonna deny that. Anyway, here are some websites for people who may need a refresher.
Apostrophe (Oatmeal)
Guidelines for Using Apostrophes Correctly (About.com)
The Apostrophe (Purdue OWL)
Chao- And even if we become aware of what we write, how can will cut down on these mistakes? Try this little exercise.
Exercise: Try writing without using either apostrophes. Write out the possessions and contractions.
Example: Instead of "he's" write "he is". Or instead of "you're" write "you are".
Consider this: While examining your own work, either for clarification or if you are at the revision stage, read every paragraph backwards. All sentences should stand on their own, and it will give you a better way of seeing mistakes.
Chao- FF.net and FP.com have Previews available. You can try reading your story in that format, so it will give you a new view on the piece. Sometimes it's easier to catch mistakes if you see your story in a new format.
Monday, August 12, 2013
Free Writing Exercise
Chao- As writers, we want to do our best in illustrating our stories to our readers. But what if we struggle with writing something like, for example, action scenes? How do we illustrate a fist fight or a car chase? In a past entry, Chao had suggested trying to take a story or one shot and focus on one aspect while writing the plot. But there are other exercises to experiment with as well. Like with artists and how they practice the fundamentals, like character expressions, writers need to always improve their own styles.
Exercise: Take a blank document. Write a scene only with your character interacting with something you want to improve.
Chao- And keep these documents in a folder either in your computer or real life filing cabinet. You may want to save them for something else. You can also compare the first time you wrote something to how it is now, like with athletes and comparing times.
Exercise: Take a blank document. Write a scene only with your character interacting with something you want to improve.
Chao- And keep these documents in a folder either in your computer or real life filing cabinet. You may want to save them for something else. You can also compare the first time you wrote something to how it is now, like with athletes and comparing times.
Monday, August 5, 2013
Take on a Word Count Challenge
Chao- Hi, all! Here's an idea to try out for writing!
Exercise: Write an entire story a certain word length. Depending on where you're submitting your work, like a magazine, you may have a word limit. Try out what you typically have for one story and decrease it from there.
Example in Usage: Summaries in FF.net and FP.com permit 384 characters, which includes spaces.
Chao- While attending a writing club meeting, Chao reviewed someone's work, and she had a word limit of 800 words. 800 words, huh? When we reach that number, some of us aren't even close to finishing a simple chapter! Having a word limit may help you construct carefully written sentences and find ways to appreciate any and all words in that work. It may heighten your word choice and how you want your work presented. Anyway, it just seems like an interesting exercise.
Exercise: Write an entire story a certain word length. Depending on where you're submitting your work, like a magazine, you may have a word limit. Try out what you typically have for one story and decrease it from there.
Example in Usage: Summaries in FF.net and FP.com permit 384 characters, which includes spaces.
Chao- While attending a writing club meeting, Chao reviewed someone's work, and she had a word limit of 800 words. 800 words, huh? When we reach that number, some of us aren't even close to finishing a simple chapter! Having a word limit may help you construct carefully written sentences and find ways to appreciate any and all words in that work. It may heighten your word choice and how you want your work presented. Anyway, it just seems like an interesting exercise.
Thursday, August 1, 2013
Updates for August
Chao- It's been a great summer so far--doing nothing but working at a summer job while finding time to finish up fan fics. Hard to imagine it's already August! School starts the 22nd for this author/blogger. Dunno what can be accomplished during the school year, but let's take a look at a few updates this month.
Yu-Gi-Oh!: "Offspring of Heroes" is just about done. It's got about three more chapters left. Hope you all have been enjoying the latest one shots! Although a sequel to "Present with You Always" was aimed to be published in a previous update, the date for publication is unknown.
Chao- Sorry about the wait for that sequel. It's under work, but not much got to be written. But it has been promised, so it will be out one day.
Phineas and Ferb: "The Value of a Smile" will go under another reconstruction. No other current news at this time.
Chao- Gonna do some catching up for the new episodes this month. Don't spoil anything!
Cats Don't Dance: No current news at this time.
Chao- Can't believe it's been about a year since Chao has started this blog. Hope any of these entries have been helping those who have been stopping by! But on a side note, Chao is gonna delete the Livejournal account; it's just too much work to maintain two blogs.
YChao- Lazybones.
Chao- And for those who are starting school, have an awesome year!
Yu-Gi-Oh!: "Offspring of Heroes" is just about done. It's got about three more chapters left. Hope you all have been enjoying the latest one shots! Although a sequel to "Present with You Always" was aimed to be published in a previous update, the date for publication is unknown.
Chao- Sorry about the wait for that sequel. It's under work, but not much got to be written. But it has been promised, so it will be out one day.
Phineas and Ferb: "The Value of a Smile" will go under another reconstruction. No other current news at this time.
Chao- Gonna do some catching up for the new episodes this month. Don't spoil anything!
Cats Don't Dance: No current news at this time.
Chao- Can't believe it's been about a year since Chao has started this blog. Hope any of these entries have been helping those who have been stopping by! But on a side note, Chao is gonna delete the Livejournal account; it's just too much work to maintain two blogs.
YChao- Lazybones.
Chao- And for those who are starting school, have an awesome year!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)